Last update11:02:17 PM

Font Size


Menu Style

Back You are here: Home Features Events and Features Life on the Island New Hanover County High Schools Announce Morehead-Cain and Park Scholarship Nominees

New Hanover County High Schools Announce Morehead-Cain and Park Scholarship Nominees

The scholarship committees from the district’s high schools have made their recommendations for this year’s seniors to represent New Hanover County Schools in the very competitive process of becoming Morehead-Cain or Park Scholarship recipients. The Morehead-Cain Scholarship Program is one of the most prestigious university scholarship programs and includes four years paid tuition at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, a laptop computer, and a four-year summer enrichment program. Morehead-Cain recipients are chosen by merit and accomplishments based on the following criteria: leadership, academic achievement, moral force of character and physical vigor.
The Park Scholarship program provides an outstanding educational opportunity for exceptionally talented and well-prepared young men and women to develop leadership skills and commitment to public service. The four-year scholarship to North Carolina State University covers tuition and fees, room and board, books and supplies, travel and personal expenses, as well as a computer stipend, opportunities for study abroad, grants for research and artistic projects, and yearly enrichment activities.  The Park Scholarship is a merit based award, and selection is based on four criteria: scholarship, leadership, service and character.   Morehead-Cain and Park Scholarship winners will be announced in March 2014. Morehead-Cain Scholarship nominees: Ashley High School: Alexander Banoczi, Meredith Turner, Jacob Yankey. Hoggard High School: Nathaniel Hanson, Caroline Tervo, Zachary Redenbaugh. Isaac Bear Early College High School: Brooke Alexandra Hoehn and Zaid Adel Khatib. Laney High School: Louisa Cone, Peyton Coleman, Juli Shin, and Brittany Williams. New Hanover High School: Patrick Peoples, Tyler George, and Rachel Walter. Park Scholarship nominees: Ashley High School: Madelyn Lammert, Bailey Williams. Hoggard High School: Melissa Wei and Daniel Ogorchock. Isaac Bear Early College High School Brooke, Alexandra Hoehn, Khyber Alexander Nasser. Laney High School: Grant Bowman and Julia Allen. New Hanover High School: Rachel Walter, Diamond Bentley. Wilmington Early College High School: Forrest DeVita.