Last update11:02:17 PM

Font Size


Menu Style

Back You are here: Home News Local and State News Local Carolina Beach Has The Only Mayor's Race In New Hanover

Carolina Beach Has The Only Mayor's Race In New Hanover

Managing Editor

NEW HANOVER CTY - The deadline to file for municipal office in New Hanover County ended July 19. Out of the four municipalities, only Carolina Beach has a race for the Mayor's office.
Incumbent Mayor Bob Lewis and former Councilman Dan Wilcox are running for Mayor.
Kure Beach Mayor Dean Lambeth and Wilmington Mayor Bill Saffo are running for reelection unopposed. In Wrightsville Beach, Bill Blair is running for Mayor unopposed. In Kure Beach, Mayor Lambeth and Councilman Steve Pagley signed up for reelection unopposed. Newcomer Craig Bloszinsky filed for election to a Council seat.
Since no other candidates signed up, all three will run unopposed. Unless someone runs a write-in campaign, there will basically be no election choices on that ballot.
The following is a list of candidates that signed up for office by the deadline on July 19th: (I) stands for Incumbent.
Town of Carolina Beach:
(Office of Mayor and two Council seats.)
• (I) Mayor Bob Lewis
102 Sugarloaf Court, Carolina Beach, NC 28428: 910-599-2879
• Dan Wilcox for Mayor, 614 Monroe Avenue, Carolina Beach, NC 28428, 910-538-2888
• (I) Council Member Tom Bridges, 600 Ocean Boulevard, Carolina Beach, NC 28428: 910-458-8802 and 910-228-3070.
• Mike Worley for Town Council, 1080 Saint Joseph St 7D, Carolina Beach, NC 28428, PO Box 190, Carolina Beach, NC 28428
• (I) Council Member Jody Smith, 109 N Fifth Street, Carolina Beach NC 28428, 910-352-1765
• LeAnn Pierce for Town Council, 100 Eighth St N, Carolina Beach, NC 28428, 910-458-0131 and 910-520-5921
• Gary Doetsch for Town Council, 209 Greenville Ave, Carolina Beach, NC 28428, 910-458-6729
City of Wilmington:
(Office of Mayor and three Council seats.)
• (I) Mayor Bill Saffo, 1807 Odyssey Drive, Wilmington NC, 28405, 910-233-2969
• Council Member Skip Watkins, 4802 Park Avenue, Wilmington NC 28403, 910-313-0807
• Council Member Derek Bickel, 1301 Hawthorne Road, Wilmington NC 28403, 910-620-4466 and 910-367-5113
• Council Member Felix Cooper, 2324 41st St #324, Wilmington NC 28403, 910-799-2007
• (I) Councilman Kevin O'Grady, 207 Nun Street, Wilmington, NC 28401, 910-254-9505 and 910-352-8058
• (I) Council Member Earl Sheridan, 4600 Bentley Dr, Wilmington, NC 28409, 910-799-5541
• (I) Council Member Charlie Rivenbark, 4924 Pine St, Wilmington, NC 28403, 2524 Independence Blvd, Wilmington, NC 28412, 910-200-5244
Wrightsville Beach:
(Office of Mayor and two Alderman seats.)
• Mayor: Bill Blair, 801 S Lumina Avenue, Wrightsville Beach NC 28480, 910-520-5463  and 910-256-2491
• (I) Alderman Bill Sisson, 16 Shore Dr, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480, 910-256-1898
• Alderman Lisa Weeks, 408 Channel Dr N, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480
• Alderman Andy Hall, 4 Columbia St W C, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480, PO Box 1346, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480, 910-617-7793
• Alderman Hank Miller III, 119 Live Oak Dr, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480, PO Box 1530, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480, 910-620-4265
Absentee by Mail Voting Begins October 4th and ends November 4th.
One-Stop voting begins October 17. Election day is November 5th.
For more information visit