Last update11:02:17 PM

Font Size


Menu Style

Back You are here: Home News Local and State News Local Board Of Elections Recount Complete: Dan Wilcox Wins Mayor Seat In Carolina Beach By Seven Votes

Board Of Elections Recount Complete: Dan Wilcox Wins Mayor Seat In Carolina Beach By Seven Votes

Managing Editor

CAROLINA BEACH - The New Hanover County Board of Elections held the official canvass meeting Tuesday November 12th to certify the November 5th, results of municipal elections in the Towns of Carolina Beach, Kure Beach, Wrightsville Beach and the City of Wilmington. The election in Carolina Beach was close. On Election night the unofficial results showed incumbent Mayor Bob Lewis with 742 votes and challenger Dan Wilcox with 747.
Following the Tuesday canvass meeting, the results changed to 741 for Lewis and 748 for Wilcox.
According to Marvin McFadyen, Elections Director for New Hanover County, two absentee ballots from former Carolina Beach mayor Bill Clark and his wife Birdie where removed. There was recently a change of residence.
He explained, "The Clark’s absentee applications were originally approved by the Board of Elections during an October meeting. Their results were included in the absentee totals on Election Day; however, the Clark’s challenged their own ballot (not provisional) and the Board conducted a hearing today at Canvass.  Their votes were retracted and registrations removed from New Hanover County.  Legal procedures for challenge and removal were followed regarding Election and Related Laws and Rules of North Carolina."
The deadline to request a recount was the day after the canvass meeting; Wednesday November 13th. A recount can be requested when the difference in vote counts is less than one percent.
Mayor Lewis requested a recount.
According to the Board of Elections in a release issued Tuesday November 12, New Hanover County Board of Elections scheduled a recount for Friday, November 15, 2013 at 10:00 a.m. for the Town of Carolina Beach Mayoral Race. The meeting was held at the New Hanover County Government Center, 230 Government Center Drive, Suite 38, Wilmington, North Carolina in the office of the Board of Elections.

Following the recount, the results from the Tuesday Canvass meeting remained unchanged with Wilcox winning election as Mayor by seven votes over incumbent Mayor Bob Lewis.

Wilcox previously served a four year term on the Town Council as well as serving on the Town's Planning and Zoning Commission. He lost his bid for the Mayor's seat in the last election to Ray Rothrock. Rothrock and Councilman Lonnie Lashley later resigned their seats leading the Council to appoint Lewis as Mayor and Jody Smith and Tom Bridges as Council members.

The following on the final results of the election:

Bob Lewis          741     49.37%    
Dan Wilcox        748     49.83%    
Write-in             12     0.80%    
Total                 1,501

Tom Bridges          615     21.18%    
Gary Doetsch        673     23.18%    
LeAnn Pierce         879     30.28%    
Jody Smith            508     17.50%    
Mike Worley          221     7.61%    
Write-in                7     0.24%    
Total                    2,903