Thu08282014

Last update11:20:04 PM

Font Size

Profile

Menu Style

Cpanel
 
Back You are here: Home News Local and State News State DHHS Reports North Carolina’s First Infant Death from Whooping Cough

DHHS Reports North Carolina’s First Infant Death from Whooping Cough

Vaccinations Urged for Caregivers of Young Children

RALEIGH, N.C. : August 20, 2012 - The North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services today reported the first infant death attributable to pertussis, commonly known as whooping cough. The child, who was only two months old, was from Forsyth County.
Whooping cough continues to spread throughout the state and country, and state health officials strongly urge parents to take these immediate steps to protect their children and other loved ones:
• Make sure your child is current on his or her vaccinations. The DTaP vaccination series is recommended for children starting at 2 months of age, and continuing at 4 months, 6 months, 15-18 months and 4-6 years of age.
• Insist that the adults in your children’s lives are vaccinated also. Whooping cough spreads easily from person to person, and young babies especially are not fully protected until they receive the full series of shots.
• Ask about your children’s caregivers. Babysitters, child care providers, family members, etc. who come in close contact with your children should be vaccinated.
• Don’t forget booster shots. By age 11, children should receive the Tdap booster. It’s never too late for teenagers or adults to receive the booster if they haven’t already.
“Babies and young children are not fully immunized until they have finished a series of vaccinations, so their only protection against whooping cough is the people around them,” said State Health Director Dr. Laura Gerald. “Anyone who lives with or will be around a baby should be vaccinated.”
The N.C. Department of Health and Human Services announced in March that the Tdap vaccine, which protects against pertussis, would be available at no-cost to anyone 7 years and older for a limited time. There may be an administration fee depending on your health care provider. The vaccine is still readily available through the N.C. Immunization Network, which includes private health care providers and local health departments.
Whooping cough is a highly contagious illness that is spread from person to person usually by coughing or sneezing while in close contact with others. It can be serious at any age, but is life-threatening in newborns and infants who are too young to be fully vaccinated. Many infants who get whooping cough are infected by caregivers who might not even know they have the disease.
“State law requires pertussis vaccinations for pre-school and school-age children, but we know that immunity wanes over the years,” Dr. Gerald said. “A booster shot is a safe and effective way for adolescents and adults to protect themselves and those they love.”
The Tdap booster shot is recommended for any child 7–10 who did not complete the childhood DTaP vaccination series and anyone 11 and older who has not yet received a Tdap booster. Tdap is particularly recommended for:
• women who are pregnant or may become pregnant;
•  all close contacts of infants under 12 months of age (parents, siblings, grandparents, household contacts, child care providers); and
• anyone with a pre-existing, chronic respiratory disease.
For more information on pertussis vaccine, visit http://www.immunize.nc.gov/family/vaccines/pertussis.htm
Children in North Carolina are required to receive five doses of diphtheria, tetanus and pertussis vaccine. 
The first three doses should be received by 7 months of age.  A booster should be given at 15 to 18 months of age and a second booster should be given at 4 to 6 years of age and before enrolling in school for the first time.  Children who receive the first booster doses on or after their fourth birthday are not required to have a second booster dose.
Adolescents are required to receive one dose of Tdap vaccine before entering the 6th grade if five or more years have passed since their last dose of tetanus-containing vaccine.
Students enrolling in college or university for the first time on or after July 1, 2008 are required to have three doses of tetanus and diphtheria-containing vaccine and a booster dose of Tdap vaccine if 10 or more years has passed since their last dose of tetanus-containing vaccine.
A dose of Tdap vaccine is not required for any student over 64 years of age.
Source: NC Department of Health and Human Services.